What You May Actually Pay for Jaw-Joint Care

Updated August 30, 2026. All prices are in US dollars.
The short answer: TMJ treatment can range from hundreds to tens of thousands of dollars
There is no dependable national average, median, or standardized price for TMJ treatment. Charges vary by provider and location, while insurance coverage can vary by state, insurer, employer plan, and individual policy. The TMJ Association therefore describes only a very broad cost spectrum, not a typical patient total. The TMJ Association explains the variability in treatment costs and coverage.
Provider-published examples extend from approximately $200 for certain guards or splints to $50,000 or more for open-joint surgery or joint replacement. Those figures represent different services, billing structures, and levels of complexity; they are commercial estimates rather than independently calculated national averages or guaranteed patient prices. Lake Norman Oral & Facial Surgery publishes examples across that range.
What you may actually pay depends on several connected variables:
- The diagnosis and reason for the proposed service
- The treatment type and complexity
- Whether the price is per visit, per month, per device, or per procedure
- The expected number of appointments or treatments
- The provider’s location and fee structure
- What the written quote includes or excludes
- Whether each clinician and facility participates in your insurance network
- Medical and dental plan terms
- Deductibles, copays, coinsurance, exclusions, and benefit caps
- Referral, documentation, or authorization requirements
- Additional diagnostics, adjustments, repairs, prescriptions, or postoperative care
A device price is not necessarily the cost of an entire episode of care. An appliance may also involve an examination, imaging, impressions or scanning, fitting, adjustments, monitoring, repairs, and eventual replacement. Likewise, a therapy price quoted per session becomes useful only after the provider identifies the anticipated number of sessions and any separate evaluation fee.
The same distinction applies to recurring treatment. A monthly medication estimate or per-treatment injection price may appear modest when viewed alone, but the cumulative amount depends on duration and frequency. Treatment plans can also change, creating expenses that were not part of the original estimate.
At the other extreme, investigative reporting has documented six-figure cumulative spending in severe, long-running cases. One patient estimated spending at least $200,000 over three decades, with records showing more than $60,000 out of pocket during the preceding decade; another documented at least $100,000 in out-of-pocket bills. These are exceptional histories involving prolonged care, not expected prices for routine treatment. CBS News and KFF Health News reported the documented patient expenses.
This article is limited to the United States because the supplied price and insurance evidence is predominantly US-based. Provider fees and plan terms can change, so use every figure as a dated starting point for questions rather than as a quote.
The numerical examples below come mainly from commercial provider pages. Those pages generally do not publish pricing methodologies or underlying billing datasets. Their estimates are useful for illustrating possible billing units and price differences, but they cannot establish what another practice will charge.
Editorial note: This article provides general educational information, not a diagnosis or treatment recommendation. An appropriate clinician must determine whether any service fits a particular condition. Pain Catalog advises seeking prompt clinical attention for jaw locking, facial or jaw trauma, or jaw pain accompanied by fever. Read Pain Catalog’s medical-content limitations and urgent-care notice.
Cost examples for guards, therapy, medication, Botox, and bite adjustment
Nonsurgical TMJ services are not interchangeable. A splint, physical therapy, medication, injection, bite adjustment, and bundled program have different purposes and billing units. Price alone cannot establish whether a service fits someone’s diagnosis or whether one option is preferable to another.
The table organizes provider-published estimates by billing unit and recurrence. “Date not stated” means the provider page did not supply a clear publication date.
| Treatment or service | Published price unit | Provider-published estimate | Source location and date | Does the cost recur? | Major limitations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Guard or splint | Per device | Approximately $200–$600 for mouthguards in one practice’s estimate | Northridge, California; date not stated — Kevin H. Gropp, DDS | Possibly | Product categories are not standardized. The quote may omit examination, impressions, fitting, adjustments, repairs, and replacement. |
| Guard or splint; physical therapy; medication; Botox | Per device, session, month, or treatment | Guards or splints: approximately $200–$1,000; physical therapy: $50–$200 per session; medication: $20–$100 per month; Botox: $300–$700 per treatment | De Pere, Wisconsin; date not stated — Fox View Dental | Therapy, medication, and injections may recur; appliances may require replacement | These are broad commercial estimates. The page does not establish a standard visit count, treatment duration, injection schedule, or package of included services. |
| Limited or major occlusal adjustment | Approximately one tooth for the limited example; broader course not itemized | Starts around $50 for one tooth; up to $1,500 for a major adjustment | Burbank, California; Nov. 28, 2025 — Dr. Ruiz & Associates | Not clearly stated | The practice does not provide a standardized definition of “major” or itemize all associated visits. |
| Customized TMJ program | Starting program price | Approximately $5,000 | Wexford, Pennsylvania; May 14, 2026 — Pittsburgh Dentist | The program may last several months; added charges are not fully described | Provider-specific package that may involve diagnostics, orthotic therapy, DTR therapy, and adjustments. It is not a regional or national benchmark. |
Guards and splints
Published estimates for guards and splints do not necessarily describe equivalent products. Several provider pages place appliances in an approximate $200-to-$600 band, while the Wisconsin source extends its broader category to about $1,000 depending partly on whether the product is obtained over the counter or custom fitted. A combined range should therefore not be read as a price comparison for one standardized device.
Ask the provider to identify exactly what is being fabricated and whether the quote covers:
- Consultation and examination
- Impressions or a digital scan
- Appliance fabrication
- Initial fitting and delivery
- Instructions for use and care
- A defined number of adjustment visits
- Repairs
- Remaking an unsuitable initial device
- Replacement after loss, damage, wear, or dental changes
A device-only fee cannot be compared directly with a package that includes fitting and scheduled adjustments. Replacement terms also matter, particularly when the quote does not say how long adjustments remain included or how long the price is valid.
Do not assume that “night guard,” “mouthguard,” “occlusal splint,” and “orthotic” refer to identical products. Ask for the device name, intended billing code, materials, included services, and replacement policy in writing.
Physical therapy and medication
The Wisconsin estimates use different billing periods: physical therapy is priced per session, while medication is priced per month. Neither unit reveals the likely total without an expected duration.
For physical therapy, ask whether the stated amount applies to the initial evaluation, each standard session, or both. Request the anticipated number and frequency of visits, when progress will be reassessed, and whether any services are billed separately.
For medication, distinguish the pharmacy price from the cost of appointments used to prescribe or monitor it. Ask the medical and pharmacy plans how they would handle the specific prescription rather than relying on a provider’s general monthly estimate.
Botox and other recurring injections
The Wisconsin source prices Botox per treatment rather than as a one-time course. A St. Petersburg oral-surgery practice separately describes repeat treatment every three to four months, showing how an injection expense could recur. That interval is the provider’s description, not a standard schedule for every patient. Boland & Menser Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery describes the recurring interval.
Before accepting an injection quote, ask:
- Is the consultation included?
- Is the fee based on the visit, treatment area, or amount administered?
- Are follow-up checks included?
- How would another proposed treatment be priced?
- Will the provider submit a claim, or is payment due in full?
- Does either insurance plan require authorization or documentation?
- What would the remaining cost be if treatment were repeated?
- Would stopping or changing treatment create another fee?
These questions clarify the financial structure. They do not determine whether injections are clinically appropriate.
Bite or occlusal adjustment
The adjustment estimates in the table come from one California dental practice and should not be generalized to other providers or regions. The practice does not establish a standard scope for a “major” adjustment.
If the service is proposed, request a written description of the work, the number of appointments included, and whether diagnostic records and follow-up are separate. Ask the treating clinician to explain the proposed change and its alternatives; a pricing article cannot determine whether altering tooth surfaces is suitable for an individual diagnosis.
Customized programs
A bundled program can make the initial price appear simpler while leaving the price of each component unclear. The Pennsylvania practice’s starting figure may cover some combination of diagnostics, orthotic therapy, DTR therapy, and guided adjustments over several months, but its page does not fully itemize the package.
Ask for:
- The stand-alone price of each component
- The number of included appointments
- The period covered by the package
- The services that can create additional charges
- The policy if treatment ends early
- The cost of transferring records or care
- Repair and replacement terms for an appliance
- The price of services delivered outside the package
A starting price is not necessarily the maximum charge or the final amount owed after insurance.
Procedure and surgery estimates need an all-in cost check
Procedure estimates should be considered separately from routine or recurring care. The quoted amounts are higher, and a single “surgery cost” may represent only part of a multi-provider bill.
| Procedure or category | Published price unit | Provider-published estimate | Source location and date | Potentially separate components | Main caution |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arthrocentesis; arthroscopy; open-joint surgery or total joint replacement | Per procedure | Arthrocentesis: $1,500–$3,000; arthroscopy: $5,000–$8,000; open-joint surgery or total joint replacement: $20,000–$50,000 | Huntersville, North Carolina; date not stated — Lake Norman Oral & Facial Surgery | Consultation, imaging, anesthesia or sedation, surgeon, facility, hospital care, prescriptions, and follow-up | The provider page does not clearly confirm that every listed component is included in every range. |
| Minimally invasive or open-joint surgery | Broad procedure category | Minimally invasive surgery: $2,000–$20,000; open-joint surgery: $10,000–$50,000 or more | De Pere, Wisconsin; date not stated — Fox View Dental | The page’s surgery FAQ describes facility, anesthesia, and surgeon fees as included, but patient-specific scope remains uncertain | The broad categories are not identical to individual named procedures, and the figures are not national prices. |
The two practices publish partly different ranges and use categories that do not align perfectly. That disagreement illustrates why commercial estimates cannot be treated as standardized market prices. Actual scope may vary with the procedure, diagnosis, facility, imaging, anesthesia, and follow-up arrangements.
Do not assume the quote is all-inclusive
Ask the provider to state whether the estimate includes each of the following:
- Surgeon’s professional fee
- Assistant-surgeon fee, if applicable
- Anesthesia professional fee
- Operating-room or facility fee
- Preoperative examination and testing
- X-rays or other imaging
- MRI or CT, if ordered
- Hospital admission or observation
- Implant or other device, where relevant
- Laboratory or pathology services, where relevant
- Prescriptions
- Postoperative imaging
- Follow-up appointments
- Care arising from an unplanned additional visit or service
If separate organizations will bill, request an estimate from each one. Ask every prospective biller whether it participates in your exact insurance plan and ask the insurer to confirm the answer.
Some provider pages categorize surgery as an advanced option rather than routine care. That description does not establish when an individual should have a procedure. Obtain an appropriate clinical evaluation and ask whether another opinion would be useful before committing to invasive treatment. Also ask what records, imaging, and consultation charges a second review would involve.
The advertised price may not be the total treatment cost
A useful budget begins with every anticipated service, not just the most visible item. Use the following worksheet to turn a headline price into a more complete projection.
Quote-review worksheet
| Cost component | Included in quoted price? | Separate estimated charge | Recurring or one-time? | Insurance response recorded? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consultation and examination | One-time or repeated | |||
| X-rays or other diagnostic imaging | May recur | |||
| MRI or CT, if ordered | Usually linked to an evaluation or procedure | |||
| Impressions or digital scans | May recur for replacement appliances | |||
| Appliance fabrication | Per device | |||
| Fitting and delivery | Usually per device | |||
| Adjustment visits | Potentially recurring | |||
| Appliance repairs | As needed | |||
| Appliance replacement | As needed | |||
| Physical-therapy evaluation | Initial or repeated evaluation | |||
| Physical-therapy sessions | Per session | |||
| Prescriptions | Monthly or per fill | |||
| Medication-monitoring visits | Potentially recurring | |||
| Injections | Per treatment | |||
| Treatment monitoring | Potentially recurring | |||
| Surgeon fee | Per procedure | |||
| Anesthesia professional fee | Per procedure or billing unit | |||
| Facility or operating-room fee | Per procedure | |||
| Hospital care | Per stay or service | |||
| Pathology, if relevant | Per service | |||
| Postoperative follow-ups | One or more visits | |||
| Postoperative imaging | If ordered |
The available evidence does not establish reliable general prices for consultations, X-rays, MRI, CT, impressions, ordinary adjustment visits, or appliance replacement. It also does not establish a standard replacement frequency. Request those prices and policies directly from the treating provider.
Four different prices you may encounter
“The cost” may refer to several different figures:
- Provider list price: The provider’s stated or billed charge before any applicable adjustment.
- Insurer-recognized amount: The amount the insurer says it will use when applying the plan’s terms.
- Insurer payment: The amount the plan ultimately pays.
- Patient responsibility: The amount assigned to the patient after the claim is handled, including any applicable deductible, copay, coinsurance, excluded service, or other unpaid balance.
The evidence does not support a typical relationship among these amounts for TMJ care. Ask both the provider and insurer which figure is being quoted whenever someone gives you a price.
A benefit discussion is also different from a final claim decision. Ask the insurer what information it would need to evaluate the proposed service and whether any conditions could change the eventual result.
How recurring unit prices accumulate
Simple arithmetic can reveal expenses hidden by per-session or monthly pricing. The following illustrations use Fox View Dental’s published units; they are calculations, not standard treatment plans:
- Physical therapy: Ten sessions at $50 to $200 each equal $500 to $2,000 before insurance, an initial evaluation, travel, or other charges.
- Medication: A monthly price of $20 to $100 equals $240 to $1,200 per year before prescribing appointments, monitoring, or other expenses.
- Botox: A price of $300 to $700 repeated every three to four months equals approximately $900 to $2,800 per year before consultations or related charges. The lower illustration uses three treatments; the upper illustration uses four treatments at the higher unit price. Fox View Dental supplies the underlying unit prices.
The purpose of these calculations is to match the billing unit to the proposed duration. Apply the same method to any service priced per visit, month, device, or procedure:
Unit price × expected number of units = preliminary service total
Then add separately priced diagnostics, monitoring, adjustments, and follow-up. Finally, apply the insurer’s response to each service rather than assuming the same benefit applies to the entire plan.
For an appliance, confirm in writing whether the price includes impressions, fabrication, fitting, scheduled adjustments, repairs, and replacement. Ask how long included adjustments remain available and which circumstances create a new fee.
Also plan for indirect expenses that may not appear on a clinical estimate:
- Travel and parking
- Lodging for distant care
- Childcare or dependent care
- Time away from work
- Transportation after sedation or surgery
- Meals or support for an accompanying caregiver
Do not assign a generic dollar value to these items. Estimate them from your own travel, employment, and family circumstances.
Why TMJ treatment may fall between medical and dental insurance
TMJ coverage can vary by state, insurer, employer plan, individual policy, diagnosis, provider, and service. Investigative reporting describes a “medical-dental divide” in which a medical insurer may classify care as dental while a dental insurer may classify it as medical, sometimes leaving the patient without coverage from either plan. The CBS News and KFF Health News investigation examines this divide.
Some policies expressly exclude TMJ treatment. Others may impose a dollar limit or cover only selected categories of care. A general statement that “TMJ is covered” is therefore not enough to establish how a particular service will be handled.
Commercial provider pages describe a possible broad split:
- Dental benefits may apply to some guards or splints.
- Medical benefits may apply to some medication or physical therapy.
- Medical benefits may apply to some joint procedures when plan requirements are met.
None of these outcomes is guaranteed. A Northridge dental practice, for example, describes possible medical coverage for therapy or medication and possible dental coverage for appliances, while warning that the result depends on the policy and treatment plan. Kevin H. Gropp, DDS summarizes those provider-reported possibilities.
Plan terms that can change patient responsibility
Ask both insurers about:
- Deductible: How much remains before applicable benefits begin?
- Copay: Would a fixed patient charge apply?
- Coinsurance: Would the patient owe a percentage of an insurer-recognized amount?
- Benefit cap: Is there an annual, lifetime, or TMJ-specific limit?
- Network status: How would the plan treat the named clinician, facility, therapist, imaging center, and anesthesia provider?
- Referral requirement: Is a referral needed before the service?
- Preauthorization: Must a request be submitted before care occurs?
- Medical necessity: What criteria or records would the plan request?
- Exclusions: Does the policy exclude TMJ disorders or a relevant service category?
- Other coverage: Does the insurer want the claim considered by another medical or dental plan?
Contact both medical and dental insurers rather than deciding in advance which one should receive the claim. Ask the provider for the proposed diagnosis and billing codes, then ask each insurer how it would evaluate those codes for the named provider and location.
When several organizations may bill, ask about each one separately. Do not infer the status of an anesthesia provider, imaging center, or facility from the status of the primary clinician.
How to obtain a usable estimate before treatment
An advertised range answers only, “What might this category cost somewhere?” A usable estimate answers, “What services are proposed, who may bill for them, what does each plan say, and what amount might remain?”
1. Obtain the proposed diagnosis and treatment plan
Ask the provider to write down:
- The proposed diagnosis
- The recommended service or procedure
- Alternatives being discussed
- The expected number and timing of visits
- Whether each service is one-time or recurring
- The diagnosis and billing codes expected to be used
- The names of outside facilities or professionals that may bill
A verbal reference to “TMJ treatment” is not precise enough for a meaningful cost inquiry.
2. Request an itemized provider estimate
Ask the provider to separate consultation, diagnostics, appliance fabrication, treatment visits, procedures, and follow-up. If the practice uses a package, request both the package price and a description of every included service.
Useful questions include:
- What exactly is included?
- Which charges are separate?
- Is the fee bundled or itemized?
- How many visits are included?
- When does the package period end?
- What could trigger additional fees?
- Are adjustments and follow-ups included?
- What happens if an appliance needs repair or replacement?
- What happens if I stop treatment or transfer care?
- How long is the estimate valid?
- Is a different cash price available?
- Will the practice submit claims to medical insurance, dental insurance, both, or neither?
3. For surgery, identify every potential biller
Use the quote-review worksheet rather than relying on a single procedure total. Ask who will bill for the surgeon, anesthesia, facility, imaging, hospital services, any relevant device or pathology, prescriptions, and postoperative care.
Request a written estimate from each organization expected to send a bill. Give the insurer the precise provider and facility names and ask how the plan would treat each one.
4. Verify benefits with both medical and dental insurers
A useful call script is:
“My provider is proposing treatment for a temporomandibular disorder. The diagnosis code is _, and the billing codes are . The provider is _ at . Does my policy contain a TMJ-specific exclusion? How would these codes be evaluated under my plan, and what requirements should I ask the provider to complete?”
Then ask:
- Is there an annual, lifetime, or TMJ-specific benefit cap?
- How much of my deductible remains?
- What copay or coinsurance would apply if the service is covered?
- How would the named provider and facility be treated under my network?
- Is a referral required?
- Is preauthorization required?
- What medical-necessity criteria or documentation would be requested?
- Is there a waiting period or frequency limit?
- Does the plan want another insurer to consider the claim?
- Can the response be provided in writing?
Record the representative’s name, date, reference number, telephone number, and a detailed summary. Ask whether the call is only an explanation of current benefits or whether it provides any assurance about the eventual claim.
5. Confirm authorization and network requirements
If the insurer says authorization is required, ask:
- Who must request it?
- Which codes, provider, and location should appear?
- What date range or visit limit applies?
- What happens if the treatment plan changes?
- Is separate authorization needed for imaging, anesthesia, or another service?
- What other conditions could affect payment?
Keep the insurer’s response with the provider estimate and treatment plan.
6. Request a written estimate of patient responsibility
Ask the provider to use the current benefit information to prepare a patient-specific projection. Request separate entries for:
- The provider’s price
- Any insurer-recognized amount the provider can estimate
- Expected insurer payment
- Deductible allocation
- Copay or coinsurance
- Noncovered items
- Possible out-of-network charges
- Amount due before treatment
- Amounts that may be billed later
- Assumptions that could change the estimate
Compare projected total responsibility rather than only the advertised fee, deposit, or monthly payment.
The supplied evidence cannot produce dependable totals for “mild,” “moderate,” or “severe” cases. Those labels do not reveal the exact services, number of appointments, duration, provider fees, or insurance result. An itemized patient-specific projection is more useful.
What to do when a TMJ insurance claim is denied
A denial should be reviewed against the applicable plan documents before deciding what to do next. Request the denial notice and identify the explanation and policy language the insurer provides.
The TMJ Association recommends beginning with an employer benefits coordinator when applicable, contacting the insurer’s customer-service department, requesting a claims supervisor if necessary, and then consulting the appeal process described in the medical and dental plans. It also advises keeping detailed notes. This is general advocacy guidance, not legal advice or a guarantee that an appeal will result in payment. Review the TMJ Association’s claim-denial guidance.
Start with the stated reason and plan language
Ask the insurer to identify:
- The stated reason for the denial
- The policy provision or exclusion it applied
- The codes shown on the claim
- The appeal process described by the plan
- The applicable submission deadline
- The address or portal listed for an appeal
- The next contact identified in the plan documents
Review both medical and dental plan materials for TMJ exclusions, covered-service definitions, benefit limits, authorization provisions, and appeal instructions.
Organize an appeal file
The TMJ Association does not prescribe a complete document set, but organizing relevant records can make it easier to follow the plan’s process. A working file may include:
- Denial letter
- Explanation of benefits
- Itemized estimate or bill
- Written treatment plan
- Relevant clinical records supplied by the provider
- Referral or authorization documents
- Applicable plan language
- Provider correspondence
- Insurer correspondence
- A copy of anything submitted
Ask the provider to confirm what it submitted and whether it has additional material responsive to the insurer’s stated reason. Follow the appeal instructions in the plan rather than assuming that every insurer uses the same process.
Maintain a detailed call log
For conversations with insurers, providers, or an employer benefits office, record:
- Name and role
- Date and time
- Telephone number
- Reference number
- Questions asked
- Description of the response
- Documents promised
- Next action discussed
If other measures fail, the TMJ Association suggests that a person may consult an attorney specializing in the area. That suggestion does not mean legal action is required, affordable, or likely to secure payment.
Payment plans can improve cash flow without lowering the price
Several payment methods may be available when insurance leaves a balance:
- Provider payment plan: The practice permits the balance to be paid over time under its own terms.
- Third-party healthcare financing: A separate company finances the charge, and the patient repays it under a credit agreement.
- HSA or FSA payment: The patient uses funds from a tax-advantaged account if the account rules treat the expense as eligible.
Provider pages mention in-house plans, CareCredit, other third-party financing, health savings accounts, and flexible spending accounts. The supplied evidence does not establish current interest rates, eligibility, promotional terms, credit requirements, or whether a particular expense qualifies.
Financing changes when money is paid; it does not reduce the underlying treatment price unless the agreement includes a separately stated discount. Interest or fees can increase total repayment.
Financing comparison checklist
Before signing, compare:
- Cash price
- Financed price
- Down payment
- Annual percentage rate
- Promotional rate and expiration date
- Whether deferred interest may apply
- Origination or account fees
- Repayment term
- Credit-check requirements
- Late-payment terms
- Consequences of missing a promotional deadline
- Cancellation provisions, if any
- Refund handling if care changes or stops
- Total repayment over the full term
Do not evaluate financing solely by its monthly payment. Compare the total amount due under each option.
For an HSA or FSA, ask the plan administrator whether the specific expense is eligible, what records must be retained, and whether timing rules apply. Do not assume that every appliance, procedure, medication, travel expense, or financing charge qualifies.
Plan for repeated or prolonged care
Financial risk can increase when treatment continues for years, involves recurring services, or moves among multiple providers. The reported six-figure patient histories involved unusually severe, prolonged circumstances and should not be treated as forecasts for ordinary care. They do, however, illustrate why cumulative spending should be reviewed rather than evaluating each new charge in isolation. The investigation describes the exceptional long-term cases.
At each stage, ask:
- How much have I paid so far?
- What services remain?
- Which charges recur?
- Have my insurance terms changed?
- Will a new benefit year affect my deductible or limits?
- Are new diagnostics or procedures being added?
- Does financing increase total repayment?
- Would another clinical opinion help clarify the proposed next step?
Bottom line
Replace the search for one universal TMJ price with a practical calculation:
- Identify the exact proposed service.
- Determine whether its price is one-time or recurring.
- Add every diagnostic, adjustment, repair, monitoring, and follow-up component.
- Ask both medical and dental insurers how they would evaluate the proposed care.
- Compare the resulting patient responsibility—not merely the advertised fee or monthly payment.
Obtain a written itemized estimate and an appropriate clinical evaluation before treatment, especially before an invasive procedure. The figures in this article are dated US provider estimates, not guaranteed prices. Affordability matters, but price alone cannot determine which treatment is appropriate.
Frequently asked questions
What is the average cost of TMJ treatment?
The available evidence does not establish a reliable US national average or median. The services grouped under “TMJ treatment” use different billing units and range from appliances and recurring therapy to complex procedures.
A useful estimate identifies the exact treatment, visit count, duration, diagnostics, follow-up, provider, network status, and insurance terms. Request an itemized written projection rather than relying on a broad average.
Does medical or dental insurance pay for TMJ treatment?
Either plan may cover selected services, but coverage is not guaranteed. Policies may exclude TMJ treatment, limit the covered amount, restrict service categories, or require particular documentation or authorization.
Obtain the proposed diagnosis and billing codes from the provider. Ask both insurers how they would evaluate those codes for the named provider and location, and request a written response when available.
How much does a TMJ mouthguard or splint cost?
Provider pages publish estimates from approximately $200 to $1,000, but the upper end may include a custom-fitted device while the underlying categories are not standardized. Several practice estimates place guards or splints closer to $200 to $600. Dr. Ruiz & Associates publishes one of the narrower appliance estimates.
Confirm whether the quote includes the examination, impressions or scanning, fabrication, fitting, scheduled adjustments, repairs, and replacement. Do not compare a device-only price directly with a bundled appliance package.
What fees may be missing from a TMJ surgery quote?
Potentially separate items include the surgeon, assistant surgeon, anesthesia, operating facility, imaging, preoperative testing, hospital care, an implant or device where relevant, pathology, prescriptions, postoperative imaging, and follow-up appointments.
Ask every expected biller for a written estimate and ask the insurer how it would treat each named provider and facility. Do not assume that a price described as a “surgery cost” includes every component.
What can I do if my TMJ insurance claim is denied?
Start with the exact explanation and policy language supplied by the insurer. Review both medical and dental plan documents and follow their stated appeal procedures and deadlines.
When applicable, contact the employer benefits coordinator, then the insurer’s customer-service department and a claims supervisor. Keep the denial notice, explanation of benefits, relevant bills and treatment records, plan language, correspondence, and a detailed call log. An appeal may be available, but it does not guarantee payment.